garlicky sautéed shrimp, arugula and tomatoes.

21Nov10

I love shrimp. They’re heart-healthy, quick to defrost and great with endless flavor combos, so I always keep a bag of them in the freezer.

This fall, I also fell in love with arugula and its peppery taste and crisp, yet tender bite. I pick it up in bulk, rather than pre-bagged and keep it in a sealed Ziplock with a paper towel, which helps it stay fresh longer. It’s great for salads and on sandwiches, but as I’ve noted the abundance of recipes incorporating it into warm dishes, I recently tried one out to great satisfaction.

I actually found this recipe in the pages of Everyday Food’s June issue, as I had recalled a feature on arugula, but it was a light and tasty dish for a weeknight and literally took 15 minutes to make, as promised. Plus, arugula and tomato are both sources of Vitamin C to help stave off seasonal colds.

The simplicity of the dish really highlighted the flavors of each ingredient, the intense garlic and freshness of the veggies. As usual, I adapted it for two and used extra garlic, but here’s the original recipe for four:

Note: I only had about a cup of arugula on hand to split between the two of us and let it get a little wilty because I added more arugula at the last minute. Still delicious, though.

Sautéed Shrimp with Arugula and Tomatoes

  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 lb large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 4 cups baby arugula
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add tomatoes and cook, stirring frequently, until they blister and split, about 2 minutes.

Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add shrimp and cook, stirring often until almost opaque throughout, about 4 minutes.

Add arugula, season with salt and pepper, and toss until wilted, 1 minute. Add lemon juice and toss to combine.

Enjoy over pasta with a drizzle of olive oil, if desired.

One Response to “garlicky sautéed shrimp, arugula and tomatoes.”

  1. I don’t eat/like shrimp (I know… I’m weird) – but – this still sounds pretty amazing – I’m going to have to make this for the hubby and see what he thinks – Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

